Carnival and Primavera

So Colima hosted two nights of rowdy Carnival parades last week. I was a little confused as I thought Carnival was always in February as a time to rage and get the craziness out of the system to be ready for a pious month of Lent? A guy on the street told me in was to welcome in primavera (spring) after the winter. Whatever the reason it was loud, chaotic and filled with lots of great only-in-mexico things that had me scratching my head.

don't worry about my open beer... I work for corona!

Case in point: most “floats” were followed by a sponsor such as the Corona truck above. It’s not in every country that the driver feels so confident in his employer that he openly cruises down the main street in a public parade with an open container! Classic mexico stuff! And in other happenings… primavera means south swell season is back…

bring on spring!

Leave a Reply

